About Us
Member Login
Irish Charts


  • November 2017

    RTÉ Choice Music Prize - Irish Album of the Year

    14 November, 2017

    RTÉ Choice Music Prize - Irish Album of the Year


    Irish Album of the Year 2017 shortlist announcement – Wednesday 10th January 2018


    Irish Song of the Year 2017 shortlist announcement - Wednesday 31st January 2018


    RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, Vicar Street, Dublin - Thursday 8th March 2018 (Tickets on sale – Friday 17th November)

    http://www.choicemusicprize.ie | #rtechoiceprize

    RTÉ continues its partnership with the RTÉ Choice Music Prize announcing key dates for 2018 and supporting what has become one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar.


    The shortlist for this year's RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2017, in association with IMRO & IRMA, will be announced on Wednesday 10th January 2018.


    The winning album will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 8th March 2018. The event will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four hour extended programme from 7-11pm and on RTÉ2 TV as part of a special RTÉ Choice Music Prize programme, approximately one week later.


    2016 nominees All Tvvins (album) and Soulé (song) joined Tracy Clifford on 2FM today for the announcement.


    Dan Healy, Head of RTÉ 2FM, said, “After a really exciting first year, everyone in 2FM is absolutely up for this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize which gives us yet another opportunity right across RTÉ to shine a spotlight like no one else on the very best in Irish music. Our all-Irish music days, which we introduced to celebrate last year’s partnership, have become one of the most popular things we do on the station. Here’s to another great year for Irish artists and for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize on 2FM.”


    Adrian Lynch, Head of Audiences, Channels and Marketing, RTÉ, said, “After the success of year one of our partnership with the Choice Music Prize, RTÉ2 is gearing up to play an important role in helping all nominees make a bigger impact and reach new audiences. The reaction to our broadcast of last year's awards event and preview on RTÉ2 was really encouraging and by working closely with our colleagues in 2FM and across RTÉ, we are looking forward to doing our bit to make 2018 a year to remember for all nominees."


    The 13th annual RTÉ Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate and acknowledge the best in Irish recorded music. The prize has become one of the music industry highlights of since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of twelve Irish music media professionals and industry experts.


    The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award.


    RAAP, Culture Ireland & Golden Discs are also official project partners.


    Culture Ireland will fund the attendance of influential overseas Industry executives to attend the RTE Choice Music Prize Live Event on March 8th while Golden Discs will feature special stands showcasing the RTE Choice Music Prize nominees across their stores nationwide.


    The Choice Music Prize website has published a list of Irish albums released to date in 2017. This list can be viewed and updated by logging onto http://www.choicemusicprize.ie


    RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of The Year 2017

    The shortlist for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of The Year 2017 will be announced on Wednesday 31st January 2018. A special event featuring exclusive performances from both Album of the Year and Song of the Year nominees will be held in Dublin’s Tramline venue that evening.


    Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event will go on sale from all Ticketmaster outlets and from http://www.ticketmaster.ie on Friday 17th November priced €28.00 including booking fee.




    For further information please contact:

    Choice Prize: Liza Geddes, Recode Publicity | lizageddes@gmail.com 

    RTE:  Neil O’Gorman  (01) 2083989 or (087) 2077192  | neil.ogorman@rte.ie


    Notes to Editor:

    The RTÉ Choice Music Prize is organised by David Reid. Irish Times music writer/critic Tony Clayton-Lea is the chairman of the judging panel. It is unique in that it focuses simply and solely on the music in judging the releases, as opposed to sales or airplay. The full list of judges will be on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website from 10th January http://www.choicemusicprize.ie.


    “2017 has been an incredible year for Irish music.  A wealth of emerging talent have made serious inroads in various international territories and in so doing reaching new audiences every step of the way.  Each year, the RTE Choice Music Prize recognises and champions some of our finest songwriters and IMRO is delighted to continue its longstanding association with this prestigious music prize” – Victor Finn, IMRO Chief Executive.


    “IRMA are once again delighted to be a continued contributor towards the success of the RTE Choice Music Prize.  New acts and new music are the life blood of the ever changing landscape of the recorded music industry.  The Irish recorded music market is in great shape at the moment; as well as the continued growth in streaming , the physical market is holding very steady together with the resurgence in sales of  Vinyl which continues at a fast pace.  IRMA wish all participants the best of luck for the RTE Choice Music Prize and the future”. - Willie Kavanagh, Chairman of IRMA


    Past recipients:


    Album of the Year

    2005 Julie Feeney - 13 Songs (Julie Feeney) 

    2006 The Divine Comedy - Victory for the Comic Muse (Parlophone) 

    2007 Super Extra Bonus Party - Super Extra Bonus Party (Alphabet Set) 

    2008 Jape - Ritual (Co-op Records) 

    2009 Adrian Crowley - Season of the Sparks (Chemikal Underground) 

    2010 Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (Kitsune)

    2011 Jape – Ocean of Frequency (Music Is For Losers)

    2012 Delorentos – Little Sparks (Delo Records)

    2013 Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)

    2014 The Gloaming  - The Gloaming (Real World)

    2015 SoakBefore We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)

    2016 Rusangano FamilyLet The Dead Bury The Dead (Self Released)


    Song of the Year

    2011 RoysevenWe Should Be Lovers (Warner)

    2012 Gavin JamesSay Hello (Believe)

    2013 The Original RudeboysNever Gonna Walk Away (Rubyworks)

    2014 The ScriptSuperheroes (Sony Music)

    2015 Gavin JamesBitter Pill (Warner Music)

    2016 Picture ThisTake My Hand (Warner Music)


    Further information can be found at: